Blog privacy controls who can and can’t view your blog.
There are six privacy options:
- Two public blog options – allows any one who visits your blog to read your blog content.
- Four private blog options – restricts who can view your blog content.
- “Discourage search engines from indexing site,” is the only privacy option available to free users on Edublogs blog. Other options are only available on Edublogs Pro and CampusPress blogs.
- RSS is automatically disabled on all private blogs to ensure your content is restricted to only people who should be able to read it.
- You change privacy in Settings > Reading on class blogs and personal educator blogs.
- You control the privacy on student blogs using My Class > Settings if you are using My Class. For comprehensive information on changing privacy on student blogs, refer to our student blog privacy support page.
You changing privacy in Settings > Reading as follows:
1. Go to Settings > Reading
2. Select your preferred privacy option under site visibility.
3. Click Save Changes.
Public blog options
Here are the two public blog options:
1. Allow search engines to index this site
This allows any one to read the content of your blog and for your blog to be indexed by search engines such as Google.
2. Discourage search engines from indexing this site
This is the default setting for all newly created blogs. This allows any one who knows your blog URL to read your blog content while blocking web crawlers so that your blog is not indexed by search engines such as Google.
You use this option if you want to keep your blog public so your content can easily be read but want to limit it to only people who know your blog URL.
Private blog options
There are four different private blog options.
We recommend you use “I would like anyone who provides the following password have access to all blogs” if you want to make your blog private but make it easy for students, parents and other teachers to view your blog.
Here is a summary of the four private blog options:
1. Anyone that visits must first provide this password
This privacy option is used if you want to restrict who can read your blog content to only people who know the password. This is the best privacy option to use on a private blog if you want parents, students and other teachers to easily be able to view your blog without having to log into an account.
People visiting your blog will see the following notification.
For example, if you set the following password:
Readers just need to add this password and click Log In to view the blog.
2. Visitors must have a login – anyone that is a registered user of Edublogs.org can gain access
This allows any one who is logged into their Edublogs.org account, if your blog is on Edublogs, to view your posts or any one who is logged into an account on your CampusPress network, if you are using a CampusPress blog, to view your blog content.
You would normally only use this on a CampusPress site where you are restricting viewing of all blogs to any one who is logged into their CampusPress account.
People visiting your blog will see the following notification if they aren’t logged into their account.
3. Only registered users of this blogs can have access – anyone found under Users > All Users can have access
You use this privacy option if you only want people who have been added as users to your blog to be able to view your blog content. In most cases you are better to use the password privacy option as a password is easier to remember for parents, students and other teachers than logging in with a username and password.
People visiting your blog will see the following notification if they aren’t logged into their account or aren’t an admin user on your blog.
4. Only administrators can visit – good for testing purposes before making it live
You use this privacy option if you only want people who have been added as admin users to your blog to be able to view your blog content. This privacy option is most commonly used if you want to restrict your blog to specific people or are setting up your blog and want to hide it from others until you are ready to make it a public blog.
People visiting your blog will see the following notification if they aren’t logged into their account or aren’t a user on your blog.